What Happens If You Are Injured By Someone Under The Age Of 18?
Adults are above the age of consent for a reason. They have the capacity and experience to realize the potential harm resulting from their actions, and if they choose to put someone at risk or intentionally harm someone with what they do, they should be held accountable. What happens, though, when an injury is caused by a minor? Many folks are uncertain if they can sue in these situations, and there is confusion as to who should be held liable for the behavior of those under the age of consent. What are the options in cases like these?
In the state of California, those under the age of 18 can be held accountable for injuries they cause to other people under specific circumstances. In these situations, the law allows for victims to file lawsuits against the parents or guardians of the minor, rather than suing the minors themselves.
Injuries Sustained From a Firearm
One of the situations where parents or guardians of a minor can be sued is if injuries were sustained through the use of a firearm. Parents or guardians of minors who permit them to have a firearm or those who made a firearm accessible to the minor can be liable for any injuries to persons or properties caused by the minor with that firearm as a result. California currently allows for recovery up to $30,000 for the death or injury of one person, and up to $60,000 for the death of all persons as a result of one occurrence.
Another situation where the parents or guardians of a minor can be sued is if a minor negligently injures another person while driving, such as while texting and driving. The minor’s parent or guardian who signed their application for a driver’s license can be held jointly liable for the injuries as long as the minor was driving with the parent or guardian’s express or implied permission. California allows for recovery up to $15,000 for one injury or death per accident, up to $30,000 for injury or death to all persons in one accident, and up to $5,000 for damage to property.
Parents or guardians of a minor can also be sued if the minor engages in petty theft. If someone under the age of 18 steals from someone and that someone is a shop owner, school, or library, the laws of the state of California places liability upon the minor’s parents or legal guardians. In most of these cases, California law allows for recovery of up to $500.
California law also allows parents and legal guardians to be held liable for a minor’s property damage resulting from graffiti or another defacement of property with paint, or other willful injury caused to school property. Recovery amounts vary according to the circumstances of each particular case, but many such claims can be brought for up to $10,000.
California Personal Injury Attorney
Los Angeles Injury Group understands the specifics of the law surrounding the behavior of minors. We will do everything in our power to best assist our clients in getting the compensation they deserve should they be injured by a minor and we believe our clients should receive payment for any damages and losses they’ve suffered. If you, or someone you love, were harmed by the actions of a minor, call (310) 954-7248.