What is Considered Reckless Driving in California?
There are many facets when it comes to what exactly constitutes reckless driving in the state of California and how much that infraction could wind up costing you. Even though a reckless driving charge is a misdemeanor crime and most drivers view that as a minor thing, it really isn’t. A charge for reckless driving, even when no alcohol or drugs are involved in any way, can remain on your driving record for as long as ten years, and even that law could be changed according to a whim the California Legislature might have on a particular day.
The California Department of Motor Vehicles is able to assign and remove points and even suspend your license if you choose not to respond to your citation. You have to ask for a hearing within a very rigid window of time, usually as short as only 10 days depending on the reason for the citation if you wish to avoid the suspension or revocation of your driver’s license. If you lose your case, your license could be revoked or suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles anyway.
Most Common Reckless Driving Charges
The top three reasons for a citation of reckless driving in the state of California are:
- Weaving in and out of lanes of traffic
- Drag racing on public roads
- Excessive speed or an exhibition of speed
The opinion of the arresting officer is, based on what he has seen and statements he has taken is what determines if you receive a charge of reckless driving. It is up to the courts, however, to ultimately decide your innocence or your guilt on the matter, unless of course, you decide not to show and simply accept your fate. No matter what the circumstances, disregarding the ticket is really the last thing that you should ever consider doing It is in your best interest as a driver and as a citizen to meet a qualified California traffic court attorney before you make any decisions. An attorney will be in the best position to give you good advice on what you should do next and on what the possible outcomes will be if you don’t.
Reckless Driving Consequences in California
If you wind up being found guilty of the reckless driving charge, then you could potentially be facing anywhere from five days to three months in county jail. Trust me, that’s not going to be a good time. In addition to that, you could also be facing a possible fine of anywhere from $145 to $1000. It is also important to note that if anybody was killed or injured due to your reckless driving offense, or if you should have a prior conviction on your record for the same reckless driving charge, your sentence will be far harsher if you end up being convicted. You will also be facing potential civil liabilities for any property damage or injuries that were caused.
If you or someone you love has been injured in a car accident that was caused by the carelessness of a reckless driver on a California roadway, then you need to get in touch with a licensed, hard-working car accident attorney as soon as possible. Here at the Los Angeles Injury Group, we can help you fight for the compensation for the lost wages, medical bills, and pain and suffering that you are entitled to under the law. Give us a call for a free consultation with an attorney at (310) 954-7248 today.