Car Insurance Requirements in California
If you have just moved to the state of California you will, at some point, need to dedicate some time to finding proper insurance for your automobile. There is a lot to consider when undertaking this task. What are the state’s minimums for car insurance? What do you need to feel covered while you are driving around? And no less important, what can you afford to pay each month? Knowing the answers to these questions will go a long way towards easing some of the stress that most people feel when they are shopping around for car insurance quotes from different companies.
Minimum California Car Insurance Coverage
Every state has minimums for the different parts of insurance that you can purchase. The minimums in California are as follows:
- Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident minimum. This part of the insurance kicks in when you are in an accident and have been found to be the driver who was at fault. Bodily Injury Liability Coverage is what pays for the costs associated with the injuries to the other person or persons who may have been involved in the car accident.
- Property Damage Liability Coverage: $5,000 minimum. Similar to the Bodily Injury only this particular portion of your car insurance pays for any property damage that may have been caused during a car accident for which you were found to be at fault. Mainly this means the other driver’s car but could also be used to cover a mowed down mailbox, or some fencing that may have been destroyed during the accident.
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident minimum. This portion of your car insurance is what will cover you, and insured members of your family, and any passengers in your car in the event that you are involved in an accident with a driver who does not have any insurance at all.
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Coverage: $3,500 minimum. This is the portion of your insurance that will help you pay for repairs needed by your vehicle in the event that you are involved in a car accident with a driver who does not have insurance. This keeps the expenses from either coming out of your pocket or the repairs not ever being made at all due to the high costs.
Please remember that these insurance requirements are listed as the bare minimum for being a legal driver in California. There are many, many more options available to drivers that cover a wide variety of incidents and accidents. Many drivers add on these extras for an added sense of security and, even though it means higher monthly payments, if they are in an accident they know they have minimized their financial damage as much as humanly possible.
Making sure that you have enough insurance coverage to comply with the laws here in California and to make sure that you will be protected if you are ever in an accident is a vital part of being a responsible driver. This is also the best way to ensure that you are able to collect on any damages the law says that you are owed. We here at Los Angles Injury Group have a team of experienced personal injury attorneys who have years of practice handling these types of cases here in California. If you would like to speak to one of our hard-working attorneys regarding a free consultation after your car accident, then please give us a call at 310-954-7248 today.